Lela Evans | PC Party of NL

Lela Evans

District of Torngat Mountains

Be the change you want to see.

Lela Margaret Ann Evans (B.Sc. Hons.) was born and raised in Makkovik, Labrador and was elected to the House of Assembly as the Member for Torngat Mountains on May 16, 2019 and re-elected on March 25, 2021.


A graduate of Memorial University with a Bachelor of Science Honours degree, she has spent the previous 20 years in the construction, exploration, and mining industries - working in the fields of environment, health, and safety.


Active in supporting and preserving her indigenous culture and knowledge, she served as a board of director for the St. John’s Native Friendship Centre (now First Light) and worked in a liaison role between Memorial University and the Labrador Inuit Association (now Nunatsiavut Government). Recently, Lelaserved as the Chairperson of the Inuit Advisory Committee at the Vale NL Vosiey’s Bay site.


A strong leader in promoting environmental stewardship and workplace safety, she served as the direct liaison between the company and the Voisey’s Bay Environmental Management Board which consists of indigenous leaders and government regulators. Later, she served as a part of a team conducting community consultations on the Uranium mining moratorium in northern Labrador.


Lela was also a founding member of Restoration of Labrador Exploration Sites (ROLES) Inc., with a mandate to clean up abandoned mining exploration sites in Labrador.

Campaign Email Address: